Skip to content
Rutland Counts — Rutland, in numbers.Local help →

Rutland, in numbers

People and living standards

Rutland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rutland council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 33,021 in 1991 to 41,629 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rutland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,132 people in 1996; 41,629 people in 2025. 25.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,021
199232,761
199332,369
199432,209
199532,796
199633,132
199732,866
199832,553
199933,537
200034,141
200134,598
200235,295
200335,559
200435,623
200536,115
200636,510
200737,110
200837,478
200937,417
201037,670
201137,581
201237,114
201337,833
201438,294
201538,438
201639,044
201739,831
201840,053
201940,175
202040,633
202141,342
202241,135
202340,765
202441,382
202541,629
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rutland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 6,304 people in 1996; 6,250 people in 2025. 0.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19916,782
19926,715
19936,465
19946,364
19956,364
19966,304
19976,101
19986,058
19996,297
20006,413
20016,648
20026,880
20036,853
20046,700
20056,686
20066,705
20076,739
20086,845
20096,738
20106,696
20116,644
20126,568
20136,617
20146,690
20156,747
20166,723
20176,851
20186,901
20196,870
20206,729
20216,688
20226,686
20236,579
20246,462
20256,250
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rutland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,613 people in 1996; 24,136 people in 2025. 11.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,500
199221,222
199321,018
199420,874
199521,347
199621,613
199721,455
199821,065
199921,751
200022,126
200122,148
200222,467
200322,614
200422,598
200522,932
200623,113
200723,431
200823,429
200923,224
201023,251
201122,975
201222,319
201322,689
201422,814
201522,620
201622,968
201723,378
201823,346
201923,232
202023,696
202124,268
202223,891
202323,480
202423,930
202524,136
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rutland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 5,215 people in 1996; 11,243 people in 2025. 115.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19914,739
19924,824
19934,886
19944,971
19955,085
19965,215
19975,310
19985,430
19995,489
20005,602
20015,802
20025,948
20036,092
20046,325
20056,497
20066,692
20076,940
20087,204
20097,455
20107,723
20117,962
20128,227
20138,527
20148,790
20159,071
20169,353
20179,602
20189,806
201910,073
202010,208
202110,386
202210,558
202310,706
202410,990
202511,243
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 41,050 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rutland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6341.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5521.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7441.8%
White38,90994.8%
Other ethnic group2110.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 37,369 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rutland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White36,30197.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3891%
Asian/Asian British3651%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2510.7%
Other ethnic group630.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 34,563 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rutland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White33,92298.1%
Mixed2550.7%
Asian/Asian British1380.4%
Black/Black British1070.3%
Chinese/Other1410.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rutland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,636 per person in 1997; £30,310 per person in 2024. 122.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,636
199813,994
199914,050
200014,564
200114,782
200214,715
200315,371
200416,167
200516,558
200616,990
200717,743
200817,915
200918,173
201018,399
201118,795
201219,760
201320,045
201420,559
201521,892
201621,485
201722,079
201826,898
201927,351
202024,358
202126,579
202226,584
202328,408
202430,310
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rutland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 28.5% in 1997; 16.7% in 2024. 11.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rutland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199728.5
199829.2
199924.2
200022.4
200119.5
200216.3
200317.9
200419.1
200517.8
200616
200715.6
200813.8
200913.5
201013.9
201115.4
201217
201314.4
201413.7
201515.1
201611.6
201712.1
201831.8
201929.8
202016
202121.7
202215.8
202316.2
202416.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.8%

21 March 2021 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10.4%

21 March 2021 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.1%

21 March 2021 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.5%

21 March 2021 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£299,000

July 2026 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£961

August 2026 · Rutland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.